Bintan Island is an island in the Riau Archipelago in of Indonesia It is part of the Riau Islands province, the capital of which, Tanjung Pinang, lies in the island’s south and is the island’s main community. The island land area is 2,402.28 square kilometres, with a coastline of about 105 km. It is truly relaxation paradise. Simple life, beautiful beach, friendly people.

Singapore, the closest major city, is a 45-50 minutes trip by motorised catamaran across the Singapore Strait from Bintan Resort area in the northwest of the island. The island has beaches with beach-front International hotels and resorts; the most prominent of these beaches is the Bintan Resorts set over an area of 300 hectares (740 acres) of tropical environment. The archipelago of the Riau Islands is right opposite to this resort across the South China Sea.

Fast Fact 
Click Here to read about Bintan Fast Fact, an essential travel information for you.

Visa-free Exemptions:
As of March 2016, Indonesia now issues special Short-Stay Visa-Free facilities to nationalities of up to 169 countries. The visa-free exemption facility is valid for 30 days; strictly non-extendable, non-transferable and non-convertible into other types of stay permits. It can be used for tourism, family and social visits, government duties, speech deliveries, international exhibition and/or seminar  attendances, art and cultural visits, meetings with head office or representation in Indonesia, or transit. The list of countries granted with Visa-Free facilities when entering Bintan Island are as follows:

List of countries granted with visa-free facilities on Bintan Island:


 Albania  Algeria  Andorra  Angola
Antigua and
Argentina Armenia Australia
Austria Azerbaijan  Bahamas  Bahrain
Bangladesh  Barbados  Belarus  Belgium
Belize  Benim  Bhutan  Bolivia
and Herzegovina
Botswana  Brazil  Brunei
Bulgaria  Burkina Faso  Burundi  Cambodia
Canada  Cape Verde  Chad  Chile
China  Commonwealth of Dominica  Comoros  Costa Rica
Czech Republic  Denmark  Dominican
Egypt  El Salvador  Estonia  Fiji
Finland  France  Gabon  Gambia
Georgia  Germany  Ghana  Greece
Grenada  Guatemala  Guyana  Haiti
Honduras Hong Kong (SAR)  Hungary  Iceland
India Ireland  Italy  Jamaica
Japan  Jordan  Kazakhstan  Kenya
Kiribati  Kuwait  Kyrgyzstan  Laos
Latvia Lebanon  Lesotho  Liechtenstein
Lithuania  Luxembourg  Macau (SAR)  Macedonia
Madagascar  Malawi  Malaysia  Maldives
Mali  Malta  Marshall Islands Mauritania
Mongolia  Morocco  Mozambique  Myanmar
Namibia  Nauru  Nepal  Netherlands
New Zealand  Nicaragua  Norway  Oman
Portugal  Puerto Rico  Qatar  Romania
Russia  Rwanda  Samoa  San Marino
Sao Tome and Principe  Saudi Arabia  Senegal  Serbia
Seychelles  Singapore  Slovakia  Slovenia
Solomon Islands  South Africa  South Korea  Span
Sri Lanka  St. Kitts and Nevis  St. Lucia St. Vincent and Grenadines
Suriname  Swaziland  Sweden  Switzerland
Taiwan  Tajikistan  Tanzania  Thailand
Timor-Leste  Togo  Tonga  Trinidad and Tobago
Tunisia  Turkey  Turkmenistan  Tuvalu
Uganda  Ukraine  United Arab Emirates  United Kingdom*
Uruguay  USA  Uzbekistan  Vanuatu
Vatican City  Venezuela  Vietnam  Zambia

Free-entry visas are provided to delegates who are registered in a conference that is officially convened. The maximum stay permitted in Indonesia is two months. The Visa-Free-Facility does not include travel for journalistic purposes which still needs visas. 

*For Citizens of United Kingdom, Visit Visa & Visa on Arrival is exempted for Foreigner identified as British Citizens with Travel Document.

Nationals from the following countries are eligible to apply for Visa-on-Arrival (Valid for a 30-day period, and extendable for another 30 days) or Visit Visa into Indonesia.

1. Libya

The length of stay in relation to the VOA charges is as follows:

  • US$ 15 per person up to a period of 7 (seven) days
  • US$ 35 per person for stays more than 7 (seven) days, up to a maximum period of 30 (thirty) days.

The visa is not extendable and cannot be used for employment purposes.
Visitors are required to have at hand the following documents for VOA application:

  • Passport with minimum six months’ validity
  • Arrival/departure card
  • Return or onward journey ticket.

Visitors are advised to bring with them the exact amount in US Dollars for payment of VOA fees before boarding the ferry for Bintan Resorts; this will minimise inconvenience and ensure a smooth VOA application process. Visitors are advised not to remove the VOA sticker that would be pasted in their passports. Emergency passport holders are not entitled to Visa-on-Arrival.

Map of Bintan

[powr-map id=1490feca_1475045949]